AUSTRIA – Rye Sourdough with sunflower seeds

austria_1

This recipe really did require some preparation – plan a week or so of preparation. This was my first time ever baking a sourdough bread and for this recipe I had to prepare a rye sourdough starter. It was 8 days from starting the starter until baking the bread. Now that I have successfully made this sourdough, I am feeding the starter and will try another sourdough sometime soon just for fun (but not for the blog unless I need a rye starter again, we will see!).

This sourdough also had some earlier steps just before the baking day (16 hours or so before) and some long proving times. This is not (for me) an ‘every day’ bread; not unless I want to have a strict routine.

  • Recipe chosen for Rye bread
  • Cooking method: Oven

IMG_1949  austria_2

Rating:

  • Faithfulness to recipe: Minor modifications (I couldn’t find malt extract so I used honey instead).
  • Met expectations? Yes. It tasted like a sourdough but possibly wasn’t as light as it could have been, or maybe that was just the rye flour. Overall it tasted healthy! Potentially the healthiest bread I will bake this entire challenge, though I think I may have some more rye breads on my list.
  • Would cook again? Probably not this exact one. I think I’ll experiment with a different sourdough. I like the sourdough concept though, now I’ve got over the hassle of making a starter dough.
  • The taste test rated on a score of 5: 4. We all liked it, even the kids. I guess that’s what you get from kids when they’ve grown up in hipster neighbourhoods that sell sourdough and rye bread and bread with seeds in it!

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 16g rye sourdough starter
  • 392g dark rye flour
  • 166g wholewheat flour
  • 100g sunflower seeds plus more to sprinkle
  • 15g salt
  • 10g yeast (I used instant)
  • 1 tsp malt extract (I substituted honey for this as I couldn’t find malt extract in supermarkets here).

Method

Best to refer directly to the recipe I followed here. It’s well written.

Leave a Reply

