FRANCE – Croissants

DSC_8014Well, I did it. I made croissants. I had baguette on my list for France but when I thought about it, if this is not the time to bake croissants for the first time, when is? Enough time on my hands, wintry weather outside and a bread baking challenge = time to take the plunge and bake croissants.

So, are they really that hard to bake? No, they aren’t but you do need a lot of time and you need to pay attention to the steps. I read through quite a few different recipes and the one I chose was one of the longer ones. I chose it due to but the many 4 and 5 star reviews of the recipe. And I didn’t burn a single croissant; they were all good. Hurrah!

Happily, I doubled the recipe and successfully made plenty of croissants so I froze some for another day 🙂

  • Recipe chosen for croissants
  • Cooking method: Oven

Rating:

  • Faithfulness to recipe: Exact
  • Met expectations? Absolutely. They tasted divine and I’m not sure how many I even ate. 
  • Would cook again? Yes, when I have a lot of time!
  • The taste test rated on a score of 5: 5! I had a very happy taste test team. My daughter knew that croissants were coming up and was asking me about them for days. Some of the leftover dough I used to wrap small pieces of chocolate for chocolate croissants. After eating those, we wished there were more with surprise chocolate pieces; although butter, jam and nutella also serve as excellent spreads.

Recipe

Ingredients

For the dough

  • 515g (~4 cups) unbleached all-purpose flour; more for rolling
  • 140g. (1/2cup plus 2 Tbs.) cold water
  • 140g (1/2 cup plus 2 Tbs.) cold whole milk
  • 55g (1/4 cup plus 2 Tbs.) granulated sugar
  • 42g (3 Tbs.) soft unsalted butter
  • 1 Tbs. plus scant 1/2 tsp. instant yeast
  • 2-1/4 tsp. table salt

For the butter layer

  • 280g (1-1/4 cups) cold unsalted butter

For the egg wash

  • 1 large egg

Method

Allow 2.5 days for this recipe.

  • Day 1 (night time): Prepare dough and refrigerate
  • Day 2 (day or night): Laminate dough. This involves making a butter layer and going through a series of rolling and folding the dough and then chilling it in the fridge. This process takes a couple of hours.
  • Day 3 (anytime): Baking day. Allow 2-3 hours from start to eating time. I had the first batch of croissants ready for an 11am morning tea. If you want them for breakfast you will need to get up early, or make them anytime and freeze them for another day.

Full, detailed instructions and photos can be found via the recipe I used. Good luck!

 

Leave a Reply

