KOSOVO – Pitalke

bread02

This bread was (and still is) a bit of a mystery. I found this bread referenced under various names – pitalke, samuni, prizren bread – and couldn’t seem to get a consistent description or image of what I was meant to make. So, until I go to Kosovo, I’m not sure what I have made is correct.

The recipe I used didn’t have any photographs and I had to add quite a bit more flour to get even a wet dough. The first mix ended up like pancake batter. I probably added around 150g extra flour. I also had to extend the cooking time and increase the temperature. I cooked a batch of the bread with less time to get a softer bread, and a batch with longer oven time to get a harder bread. I’m not sure which is right, or maybe neither. The bread didn’t brown, and maybe it’s not meant to. In any case, it tasted okay and the family liked it. The salt wasn’t overpowering. My daughter asked me to save the last one for her breakfast the next day.

One aspect that did turn out as expected was that we were able to cut the bread and make bread “pockets” just as I’d read about for this bread so we could fill with filling;  nutella was a popular choice.

  • Recipe chosen for pitalke
  • Cooking method: Oven

Rating:

  • Faithfulness to recipe: No, I added more flour.
  • Met expectations? Well, I really don’t know.
  • Would cook again? No. Other breads were similar.
  • The taste test rated on a score of 5: 3.5

bread03Recipe

Ingredients

  • ~450g  bread flour
  • 500 ml water
  • 15g salt
  • 10g instant yeast

Method

  1. Add yeast to warm water.
  2. Mix ingredients together thoroughly to make dough and then set aside for half an hour, then mix (knead) again. The dough may be quite wet.
  3. Set dough aside for another ten minutes, and then divide dough into equal-sized, round shapes about 200gr each, allow them to rise for a few minutes, and then flatten each dough portion with your hands.
  4. Spread some flour on the bottom of a flat pan and place individual portions on top.
  5. Bake at 180C in the oven for ~12minutes.Allow to cool and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

