MACEDONIA – Baba Tala’s kozinjak

bread92.JPGThis was a big bread. The dough ended up growing an oozing everywhere when I placed it in a warm place and I had to throw some dough out. Even with all that, it was still a big bread.

IMG_3530.JPG

  • Recipe chosen for kozinjak
  • Cooking method: Oven

Rating:

  • Faithfulness to recipe: Yes, except I didn’t use yellow food colouring which was optional.
  • Met expectations? Partially. The dough was runnier than I expected and I couldn’t create a nice shape. I was wary of adding more flour lest the bread turn out too dry. In fact the bread tasted very similar to an Italian panettone. I googled this and in fact, yes, this Macedonian kozinjak is similar to panettone.
  • Would cook again? Not sure. I had thought the bread would be more like the Hungarian kalacs.
  • The taste test rated on a score of 5: 4. My husband would have rated it a 5 because he loves panettone.

Recipe

Ingredients
(I baked with only half of the ingredients and used less yeast)

Sponge (yeast mix)

  • 3/4 cup (185ml) full cream milk
  • 3 tablespoons (6 x 7g sachets) dry yeast (I only used 2 sachets and the rise was fine)
  • 1 teaspoon (12g) caster sugar
  • 1 tablespoon (6g) plain flour

Dough

  • 6 large eggs, room temperature
  • 1 1/3 cup (250g) caster sugar
  • 2/3 cup (150ml) vegetable oil, plus extra for greasing
  • 1 1/4 cup (310ml) full cream milk, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon (8g) vanillin sugar
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 10 cups (1kg) white bread flour (‘00’/strong flour), sifted, plus extra for dusting
  • 3 drops yellow food colouring (optional)
  • 250g raisins
  • 1 organic or free-range egg, lightly whisked for brushing
  • Sesame seeds for sprinkling

Method

Detailed instructions including some photographs of the dough shaping are available from the recipe I used.

Leave a Reply

