MONACO – Fougasse Monégasque

uDSC_8696

From the Principality of Monaco comes a very specific variation of another French bread, the fougasse. This one looked so colourful and delicious in the many internet photos but unfortunately in my current location I wasn’t able to locate quite all the ingredients. Nevermind, I think I achieved a bread that is close enough and did have the distinctive anise flavour. As I post these photos I am already thinking about making this again.

  • Recipe chosen for Fougasse
  • Cooking method: Oven

Rating:

  • Faithfulness to recipe: No, I was missing a few items unfortunately but I think I captured the essence of the bread. I was missing aniseed and curaçao liqueurs, coloured sugared almonds or aniseeds, I didn’t have hazelnuts on hand (though I could have found them) so I used pistachios instead. and I substituted orange oil & orange juice for orange blossom water. I also toned down the amount of anise seeds quite significantly. Even then, the anise taste still reigned supreme.
  • Met expectations? Yes. It was flavourful and I really enjoyed the light pastry with the toasted nuts atop.
  • Would cook again? Yes, but possibly only for me! I like aniseed.
  • The taste test rated on a score of 5: 4, though the children didn’t really like it, which was to be expected.

DSC_8697

Recipe

Ingredients

  • 600g soft wheat flour
  • 20g fresh yeast
  • 1500ml lukewarm water
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 10 grams of table salt
  • 1 tablespoon of rum
  • 1 tablespoon of liqueur, curaçao
  • 1 tablespoon of Anisette or Anis (liqueur)
  • 2 tablespoons anise seeds
  • 4 tablespoons of orange blossom water
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 1 Lemon peel, grated
  • 220g butter
  • 1 egg (for wash)
  • 10 grams of almonds (unsalted)
  • 10 grams of hazelnuts (unsalted)
  • 10 grams of pine nuts (unsalted)
  • 20 grams of sugar sprinkles, coloured, with anise

Method

  1. Put the yeast in a large bowl and add warm water to dissolve it. Incorporate part of the flour and stir vigorously. Leave the dough to double in volume.
  2. Add all the flour, mix in the liqueurs, oil, orange blossom water, lemon peel, anise, sugar, softened butter and salt.
  3. Leave the mixture and place in the refrigerator for 2 hours.
  4. Roll out the dough with a rolling pin on a round baking pan that has been previously oiled. Brush the top with egg yolk.
  5. Add almonds, pine nuts, walnuts, almonds and the red and white “anisini”. Allow to stand for another hour at room temperature.
  6. Heat the oven to 170C.
  7. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and sprinkle with a mixture of orange blossom water, rum and curaçao.
  8. Bake at 170C for about twenty minutes.
  9. Turn the oven off and let the fougasse dry out in the open oven.
Leave a Reply

